Search: "#bookreview"


A Review of Alejandro Zambra’s Multiple Choice (translated by Megan McDowell) Sun Oct 23 2016
Multiple Choice is a small, weird book that is best read in one sitting, so the sections can build properly on each other (which of course I didn’t actually do, because it was summer and life interfered and I am never as assiduous as I mean to be). view at weirderary
#bookReview
My Rabid Fan Review of Lidia Yuknavitch’s Chronology of Water Thu Mar 17 2016
The line between admirer and stalker is in the eye of the beholder. To me, Lidia Yuknavitch brings out the 13 year old in me that went to Monkees concerts, had Monkees posters on my walls, and wore Monkees t-shirts everyday. view at weirderary
#bookReview
Legacy of the Last World by Susan Roney-O’Brien Sat Oct 15 2016
Roney-O’Brien’s Eve transcends religious tradition as the reader inhabits Eve’s mind and body, her nature revealed in the small details. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #poetry
On Mothering Multiples, Kathy Manta, Ed. Sun Aug 28 2016
As mother of two singletons, I read On Mothering Multiples not in appreciation of a common experience, but to better understand the lives of women who birth multiple children at concurrent ages. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #mothers
Know the Mother by Desiree Cooper Tue Jul 12 2016
There is no better time for flash fiction than the summer. In between corralling children to sporting events, the beach, and various summer destinations, flash or micro fiction gives a respite, like a lick of ice cream. It is easier to deal with repetitive, “Mama, look at me!” requests when one is still pondering the after-glow of a good story, and each piece’s short duration (1-9 pages each) allows Know the Mother to slide easily into a busy schedule. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #mothers #feminism
Book Review: The Daily Hazards of a Middle Eastern Wife by Soad Nasr Sat Nov 14 2015
Beyond being courageous, Soad Nasr’s voice is fresh and crisp. This results in a friendly tone that is easy to access for people of all backgrounds. view at huffingtonpost
#BookReview #HuffPost
Book Review of Sink or Swim: Tales from the Deep End of Everywhere by Brenda Kelley Kim Fri Dec 16 2016
That common experience of motherhood makes this book engaging, as each story reminds me of one of my own, making reading the book feel like a conversation between new friends. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #Humor #Parenting
In Conversation With Leslie Lawrence, Author of "The Death of Fred Astaire" Wed May 24 2017
Interview style book review of a marvelous essay collection about life, learning, and teaching. There are also children and dogs. read this article
#BookReview #QueerParenting #essays #writing #LeslieLawrence
Interview with Erin Judge, Author of “Vow of Celibacy” Mon Jul 24 2017
I primarily read memoir, so it took me a minute to realize that Natalie wasn’t a real person. I want to go hang out with her and drink wine, eat chocolate, talk all night. I still can’t believe she isn’t out there somewhere, designing clothes and just waiting to be my best friend. view at huffingtonpost
#BookReview #Bisexual #ErinJudge
Book Review: Tilting by Nicole Harkin Mon Jul 17 2017
It’s hard to be a kid. It’s hard to figure out where to stand or what to do when the world is constantly shifting under your feet.   read this article
#BookReview #Memoir #Tilting
Book Review: Have You Seen CindySleigh? & Other Stories by Diane Stiglich Tue Aug 29 2017
This book is a dream-like art-come-to-life world, where there are truths that are as immutable in this reality as in the one on the page, and stumbling across these truths is as if we find something solid to hold onto—grasping a rock after clawing at clouds. view at momeggreview
#BookReview #MagicalRealism #MomEggReview #CindySleigh
Interview and Giveaway with Courtney Maum, Author of Touch Sat Sep 30 2017
It seems as if everyone is chatting IRL and online about the tractor beam hold screens have over our lives, and whether intimacy is the price of technology, or is enhanced by it. If you are wondering if we are headed towards further isolation and a “post-touch” society, read on. view at thedebutanteball
#BookReview #CourtneyMaum #Touch #Giveaway
My Interview with Thrity Umrigar, Author of Everybody's Son Sat Nov 04 2017
I was first introduced to Dr. Thrity Umrigar’s work last spring when she and I both had the honor of having pieces we wrote performed in Lit Cleveland’s staged reading, Crossing Borders: Immigrant Narratives, a part of Cleveland State University’s Cleveland Humanities Festival. view at thedebutanteball
#BookReview #ThrityUmrigar #Everybody'sSon #Giveaway
Book Review: RED: A CRAYON'S STORY by Michael Hall Wed Nov 15 2017
I am completely nuts about RED by Michael Hall, a 40-page picture book about a blue crayon who is mistakenly given a red label at the factory. read this article
#BookReview #Red #MichaelHall #LGBTQA
Book Review: QueerSpawn in Love by Kellen Anne Kaiser Sun Jul 02 2017
Even though we are both queerspawn, Kaiser’s family makes my parents look like amateurs. view at huffingtonpost
#Queerspawn #BookReview



Tweet Follow Only_Mama